The Australian Spinal Injury Alliance represents eight of the country’s largest spinal cord injury organisations, as a national voice for the estimated 15,000 Australians who have a spinal cord injury.

The eight organisations which make up the Alliance are AQA Victoria, Independence Australia, the ParaQuad Association of Tasmania, ParaQuad New South Wales, PQSA in South Australia, Spinal Cord Injuries Australia, Spinal Life Australia and Alinea in Western Australia.

As a collective, the Alliance’s role is to represent the interests of all Australians who have sustained a spinal cord injury via five key priorities:

  • Government liaison
  • Advocacy
  • Injury prevention
  • Information sharing and
  • Awareness raising.

The Alliance collaborates on national campaigns to raise awareness and promote inclusion for people with a spinal cord injury, with Spinal Cord Injury Awareness Week held in September each year.

The Alliance also supports the International Spinal Cord Society (ISCoS) and the Australian and New Zealand Spinal Cord Society (ANZSCoS) by marking International Spinal Cord Injury Day on 5 September each year.

To find out more about each Alliance organisation, click here.